Prickly Pear Season has arrived…Introducing the Prickly Pear Tart !

20130808-104340.jpg

This week sees the start of the prickly pear season on the island.

I never considered myself to be a huge fan of this fruit until very recently when I tasted it just as it should be … eaten nearly as soon as it is cut. The flesh is moist, succulent and totally different, the seeds silky and smooth… not as trendy as passion fruit but just as good as, if not better ….

I still cannot understand why this fruit is imported on the island as prickly pear trees are abundant and I am so impressed with the flavor and texture of the local variety that I will spend the next week trying out different ways to use them. I wish to capture the prickly pear at the peak its freshness and full flavor!

This morning I visited a secluded part of the island, paradise still untouched, tucked away from the reality and the harshness of everyday life. A place surrounded by orchards and vines, figs and peaches, the sweet aroma of fennel and blueness of the Mediterranean Sea all around. A feast for the taste buds, the eyes and the very soul …. and with the help of disposable gloves I chose and cut my own prickly pears, no difficult job at all….

I came back home, peeled them and made a prickly pear tart like no other I have seen before.

Introducing the most delicious locally sourced and seasonal Prickly Pear Tart:

20130808-105856.jpg

You will need:

    For the Sweet Pastry:
    320g flour
    100 g Butter or Margarine
    80 g Sugar
    70g Water
    Few drops Vanilla Extract
    Zest and juice of one lime

Sieve flour. Rub in butter until mixture is like fine breadcrumbs.
Add vanilla extract, lime zest and mix in well.
Dissolve the sugar into the cold water. Add the lime zest. Make well in the middle of the dry ingredients and bring together. Place in cling film in fridge for at least half an hour.
Grease the tart dish and I usually dust it lightly with flour. Roll out pastry and line the bottom of the dish. Dock the pastry with a fork and place in fridge again for at least 15 minutes.
I usually like to bake the pastry case blind for about 10 minutes to give it more texture. It is just a matter of preference.

    For the custard topping:
    1 large can Evaporated Milk
    500 g water
    200 g sugar
    Zest of half a lime
    Separately, 100 g cornflour mixed in 150 g water

    6 Prickly Pears
    1 spoon honey
    Two spoons sugar

Break up the prickly pears with a fork until seeds resemble passion fruit. Heat up with honey and sugar and drain water by placing the seeds in a sieve. Allow to drip.

Gently heat the first four ingredients and bring to a gentle boil stirring with a wooden spoon. Add the cornflour mix and stir while bringing to a gentle boil. Remove from heat immediately and carry on stirring. Pour over the crust. Add a few prickly pear seeds and work into the custard with a fork.

Before the custard fully cools, add the rest of the drained prickly pear seeds and flatten with a spoon. Allow to set in the fridge.

When it has cooled down, brush with a glaze using 100g Apricot jam, 20g water and 15 g sugar.

20130808-222913.jpg

20130808-110136.jpg

Prickly pear season is here! I was up early cutting prickly pears for some of my recipes today… What a glorious day on paradise island !

20130807-125811.jpg

And I now find I can cut the fruit without gloves… !
20131024-140942.jpg

3 thoughts on “Prickly Pear Season has arrived…Introducing the Prickly Pear Tart !

  1. Pingback: Marsala Chicken Bake and the most delicious Mediterranean Tomatos | Good Food Everyday

  2. Lea, I have no idea how I missed this post. šŸ˜® Great post!! Baby Lady & I love prickly pear fruit (tuna). You can eat the paddles (nopales) after removing the spines/needles as a vegetable but the fruit is just out of this world. My father-in-law calls the fruit matracas (machine guns) because, when you eat them, it’s like a machine gun going off in your mouth crunching all of the seeds. šŸ˜€ We make margaritas and the very best sorbet with them -http://remcooks.com/2013/07/30/sorbete-de-tuna-roja-red-prickly-pear-sorbet/. We use them as salsas and sauces. They are very versatile and come in different varieties. The ones you see most often in Texas are the magenta colored ones which I prefer over the green ones as the green ones aren’t ripened enough for my palate. They have white, green, yellow, orange, red, purple, and brown ones. It looks like you have orange and red ones. I have never tried the orange ones but each one has its own distinct flavor. How does the orange one taste? I really do love your blog and now must make a prickly pear tart (pastelito de tuna). Thanks for inspiring me. šŸ™‚

    Like

From the heart of the Mediterranean.... Thank you !

