A successful fusion of cultures so far apart … Wontons from the heart of the Mediterranean!

20130923-140407.jpg

Last week I bought some Chinese ingredients from the local Asian food store and was about to make some traditional Chinese wontons when I spotted a tub of fresh local ricotta in the fridge and wondered if sweet ricotta wontons would work.

I like a bit of a twist in my cooking, nothing too experimental but a slight surprise, just a bit different to the norm keeping everyone interested, a sweet Mediterranean Wonton. I used a tub of fresh local ricotta and sweetened it with a mix of thyme honey and carob syrup which I made in July and added commercially made candid peel rather than use my home made one as i want the same colorful appearance that one finds in the cannoli that are made on the island. I also used cinnamon and vanilla.

250g ricotta yields 45 mini wontons. It is important not to fill them too much and to moisten the edges without overdoing it to close the pastry and retain a good shape. I laid the wontons out on a tray well covered in cling film and froze them. As soon as I deep fry them, I will include photos of my finished product which I hope will be enjoyed by my colleagues at the newspaper who can be my guinea pigs today ! And I look forward to finding out how much these will appeal and whether I should be making them regularly …..

For the filling, mix all the ingredients together and you will need :
250 g ricotta, mashed up with a fork
1 spoon Thyme Honey or alternative
1 spoon carob syrup or use more honey if carob syrup is not available
3 spoons commercially bought colorful candid peel
Pinch of Cinnamon
Pinch of Vanilla

20130923-050544.jpg
Wonton skins are readily available from local Asian food stores. Defrost them well.

20130923-050727.jpg
Lay out the wonton skin on a glass board.

20130923-050900.jpg
Place a small amount of filling in the centre of the wonton in a rectangular shape.

20130923-051030.jpg
Dip the tip of your finger into some water and moisten one side of the wonton skin. Do not overdo it as this will spoil the shape of the wonton and make it soggy, you merely want to seal it.

20130923-051317.jpg
Dod the wonton in half and gently press the two sides so that they bind together.

20130923-051451.jpg
Fold the wonton lengthwise without sealing it further. With the tip of your finger gently wet the tip at one corner of the pastry, twist and seal the two tips together.

20130923-051637.jpg
Until you get this shape. Make sure the tips are securely sealed.

20130923-051915.jpg
Lay out the wontons neatly on cling film on a tray. You can freeze them and fry them at your convenience.

20130923-140537.jpg

2 thoughts on “A successful fusion of cultures so far apart … Wontons from the heart of the Mediterranean!

  1. Hello, I noticed a number of your recipes where a spoon of an ingredient is required. Would you please tell me if it would be a tablespoon or a teaspoon? Thank you.

    Like

From the heart of the Mediterranean.... Thank you !

