From an island bursting with sunshine in the Fall, a very moist lemon coconut tray cake….

20131026-183221.jpg

Those who follow my blog know about my passion for making all sorts of condiments, chutneys and jams using local fruits and vegetables. I get enormous pleasure out of cutting the fruit myself and producing these preserves that have virtually no carbon footprint. And how can you beat the freshness and purity of pesticide-free fruit that goes from the tree straight into the pan usually on the same day, all the goodness captured securely in a jar….

I always have a surplus of lemon skins as I use the juice to make natural pectin. And I preserve the skins, first in salt and then in sugar, a process that requires a bit of patience. Recently I started to add fresh herbs to the sugar in which I roll the lemons at the last stage as this simply adds more flavor.

Today I am making a lemon and coconut tray cake and I am visiting my colleagues at the newspaper. It is always a pleasure to share my recipe testing with such a convivial team. My tray cake is made with the local unwaxed lemons I was able to admire alive on the tree, lovingly nurtured by the golden sun and the Mediterranean soil that make them unique.

As my kitchen fills with the aroma of coconut and lemon enveloped in a soft cake batter, I am writing the easiest cake recipe you will ever have…… not only the easiest, but the softest, moistest cake using no mixers, no creaming or rubbing in methods, just everything stirred together with a wooden spoon. An all-in-one that does not fail …

You will need :

3 cups self-raising flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1cup desiccated coconut
3 tablespoon grated lemon rind
2 cups caster sugar
200 g butter, melted
4 eggs
1 cup milk

Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease a 20 cm deep round cake tin.
Combine all ingredients in bowl, mixing well with wooden spoon until batter is smooth.
Pour mixture into cake tin and bake for 40 minutes until light gold in color.

I covered mine in glacé icing and sprinkle dried coconut shavings and grated preserved lemons.

The newspaper this week …

20131026-182822.jpg

And thumbs up from the team … They like it !

20131026-170711.jpg

From the heart of the Mediterranean.... Thank you !

