Its drizzling outside, I feel the humidity as I make breakfast in a frame

This week’s paper

20140504-143900.jpg

Its the ‘in-between stage’ now when you feel hot from wearing too many layers and then perhaps a bit chilly. These days I like a cooked breakfast especially at weekends as it keeps me going all day.

This is more of a healthy fry-up and I make an effort to use as little oil as possible.

I assemble a frame with some oven fries using toothpicks to hold it together while the egg cooks. I also use the same method with local sausage. This is made with coriander seeds, garlic and parsley and I love it. Normally you would need to deskin a sausage and mash up the meat but my friendly butcher Carmel sells it as sausage meat by weight.

And with a thin slice of grilled ham and lots of fresh arugula from the garden this morning, this is a simple breakfast that looks and tastes divine.

And for one person you will need:

20140504-155851.jpg

8 oven fries
1 egg
50g sausage meat
1 thin slice ham, grilled
a handful of fresh arugula
8 toothpicks
A piece of kitchen towel with touch of vegetable oil
Freshly ground pepper and sea salt

20140504-160810.jpg

Trim the oven fries to more or less the same size
Assemble two frames and use toothpicks to hold the frame together.
Wipe a non stock pan with the oil on the kitchen towel.
Drop the two frames into pan.
Take the sausage meat and fill in the cavity of your frame and pat it down
Turn over the other frame and crack open an egg.
Turn over the sausage meat frame and cook for a few minutes.
Remove from the pan and place on kitchen towel to absorb any extra fats.
Gently pull out toothpicks.
Prepare your serving plate with lots of arugula and top with your ham slice.
Arrange the two frames on a plate, season and I love lots of freshly ground pepper on mine.
Serve. I so appreciate fresh food and the over fries have been a real treat today…

And yesterday afternoon I met with David Gonzalez, so gifted and talented, here on the island for the first time. What a treat to listen to anecdotes from the master storyteller himself! He spoke about his native New York, his project here and the admirable way he shares his talent … a warm welcome to David and inspite of his heavy workload I hope he will find some time to enjoy this wonderful island…

20140504-152444.jpg

14 thoughts on “Its drizzling outside, I feel the humidity as I make breakfast in a frame

From the heart of the Mediterranean.... Thank you !

