Polish Rosol

I have just returned from Lapanow in Poland where the Festival of Broth takes place every year.

Rosol is a traditional clear Polish broth served with fine noodles or dumplings that are preferably home made.

20140923-112758.jpg

I had the opportunity to taste many versions made from old family recipes or those that are typically used in villages. Although very similar and using more or less the same ingredients, each soup had its own identity in appearance and flavor.

20140923-113116.jpg

Thr Polish are proud of their Broth. It is served at weddings, Christmas dinners, special occasions and also fed to someone who is ill and the healing properties must also come from the care and attention that has gone into the preparation of this broth.

I was given several similar recipes and you will need:

1 whole chicken
2 carrots, peel and cut into small cubes
Some chopped garlic
Flat leaf parsley
1 celery, cut into large pieces
½ leek, cut into large pieces
1 whole onion, delicately charred on a skillet
1 tsp black peppercorns
2 dried bay leaves
cooked angel hair noodles, to serve
fresh parsley, to serve
salt and pepper

20140923-114312.jpg

Place the chicken in a large soup pot and cover with 2 litres of cold water. Bring the water to boil, skim very well, then lower the heat and simmer for another hour.

Add the carrot, parsley, celery, leek and onion to the soup, with some salt, peppercorns and bay leaves. Simmer over low heat for an additional hour.

Remove meat and vegetables, and season with salt and pepper to taste.
Strain the soup.
Remove some of the fat floatimg at the top.
Serve with cooked angel hair pasta, chopped carrots and fresh parsley.

With thanks to the local action group of Dolina Raby

20140923-125529.jpg

Today’s paper

20140927-203612.jpg

15 thoughts on “Polish Rosol

  1. I’m Polish and my mom makes fantastic rosol, I make it when I’m cold, it’s perfect for the winter evenings. I didn’t know you can add garlic though, my grandma or my mom don’t do that, I guess it depends on the region too. My favourite is the one made out of duck, but it’s true that the chicken rosol is the most popular one. Oh I think I will make it this weekend!! 🙂

    Like

From the heart of the Mediterranean.... Thank you !

