Haluski from Poland and I love its simplicity …

20140927-203059.jpg

Visiting the heart of Poland made me curious about the cuisine.. my previous trip happened many years ago, another very brief trip, to Warsaw at that time. However the difference this time is that i loved the cuisine of the Malopolska region. It is fresh, no-nonense food, using local and seasonal ingredients with a taste of what you would expect all home cooking to be.

You will need :

200g bacon, sliced finely and cooked
1 tablespoons butter
1 onion, sliced, today i have used 6 spring onions instead
1 garlic cloves, grated
8 cups cabbage, shredded
500 g italian noodle egg pasta
1/4 teaspoon caraway seeds
Salt and pepper to taste

20140927-203130.jpg

Cook egg noodles according to package directions, and while it is cooking, prepare the rest of ingredients.

While the noodles are cooking, melt butter in large deep pot over medium heat.

Add the onion, bacon, garlic and cabbage. Saute stirring occasionally until softened and just beginning to turn golden.

Stir in caraway seeds if using, then cover, reduce heat to low, and let simmer for 5 to 10 minutes.
Drain the noodles in a collander.
Add the cooked noodles to the other ingredients, season with salt and pepper, and stir well until noodles are heated though. Place in a serving bowl and spoon some sour cream on top of it. Garnish with chives or flat leaf parsley. I also added some more shredded uncooked cabbage on top, gives the overall dish a great texture.

Adjust seasoning if necessary and serve hot.

20140927-203111.jpg

12 thoughts on “Haluski from Poland and I love its simplicity …

  1. If only it weren’t for the bacon, this would be heaven for me. Point: I use Garofalo paste asciutte, and I can tell you that their tagliatelle cooks ina something like 5 minutes, Lea. [grin]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You deserve a big Thank you 🙂 People usually think that Polish cuisine is heavy, and we eat only sausage and pierogi 😀 I haven’t seen my mom for a long time now and these last posts made me almost home sick. So my big Thank you once again!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You can never go wrong with bacon and garlic… looks yummy and I know it will taste as good as it looks! I will be trying this this weekend as I have been looking for a change! Thank you for sharing this and the smiles 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

From the heart of the Mediterranean.... Thank you !

