The Mediterranean Diet during Kalamita

Dieta Mediterranja featured in Kalamita

Dieta Mediterranja featured in Kalamita

An interesting journey nearly unrecorded on my blog. My book launches this week, a very special book with simple recipes following the principles of the Mediterranean Diet. Why is it so special? You can read more about it here in English.

Because I have the advantage of living a genuine Mediterranean lifestyle and the use of fresh Mediterranean ingredients on an island blessed with all the good things that life can offer.

The Mediterranean Diet is not a fantasy here or something that we aspire for, but it is the lifestyle of every man and woman in the street. Fresh ingredients literally on our doorstep, vegetables delivered to the stores a few hours after harvest and meat distributed to butchers in villages and towns around the island on the same day of slaughter.

How much fresher can it get? Absolutely impossible. And the transparency of the food chain can be easily traced because the distances are so small. For the last two years I have accompanied many farmers during harvest, I have had a slice of their life. I have seen the whole cycle of most of the local produce here.

middle pages book

My book is special to me as it was written for a special tv show, a cult programme with a huge and loyal fan base. It has been an honour to get to know the audience while cooking live a few times a week. I appreciate their participation and interaction as this is vital to the success of the show. This book has been written for them as well our radio listeners and my ever loyal readers who know that they have always been close to my heart, ever since the day I wrote my first column here.

The book is in Maltese and my second book in English will follow shortly, not a translation but completely new work.

I thank Alfred the brains and star of the show, Josef my editor and Dorian my mate.

To you all in the USA, good night x

Kalamita @ ONE TV

Kalamita @ ONE TV

13 thoughts on “The Mediterranean Diet during Kalamita

From the heart of the Mediterranean.... Thank you !

